The fate of the first SDP MPs bodes ill for The Independent Group

With several Labour MPs having split away from the party to form The Independent Group, parallels with the SDP were obvious and numerous. I put together a visual history of what became of those first SDP MPs, and the results make grim reading for TIGgers.

Of the 28 SDP MPs who stood in 1983, 23 lost their seats – an attrition rate of 82%. And TIG MPs should probably resist calls to submit themselves to a by-election – the only SDP MP to do so lost their seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *